Book Review: Loss of Reason

Loss Of Reason: A Thriller (State Of Reason Mystery, Book 1) by [Maxwell, Miles A.]

3 out of 5 stars

I wasn’t all the impressed with this book. I kept reading hoping it would get better. It’s supposed to be in the thriller/mystery genre and it just didn’t do it for me. The only mystery there was in this book was who launched the nuclear attack. Everything else was just kind of meh.

The writing wasn’t horrible. That was a big highlight. If the writing hadn’t been as good as it was, I probably wouldn’t have finished this book.

Anyway, the story line follows two brothers, Everon and Franklin, who are only step brothers and are connected through their sister, Cynthia. The two brothers go into New York City, where the attack happened, to look for their sister. As they do this, they end up saving some people from the subway and some people on the road trying to flee. As you continue to read, you see the situation through some random peoples’ eyes as well. For me, this part took me out of the story more than anything else.

The ending wasn’t really an ending. I know it was meant to be a cliffhanger to get you to buy the second book, but there just wasn’t any kind of ending to the book. It just ended and left me dismayed. However, since I did finish it and there was nothing wrong with the writing, I gave it 3 stars. Maybe someone who reads this genre will like it? I can’t honestly say as the book left me disappointed.

Leave a Reply

