Book Review: Forged in Death

Forged in Death (The Death Wizard Chronicles Book 1) by [Melvin, Jim]

I have rated this book 2 out of 5.

Forged in Death (The Death Wizard Chronicles Book 1) by Jim Melvin was just barely interesting enough to keep reading. There were several times as I was reading, I kept asking myself why I was reading it and then something a little interesting would happen and I’d keep going. In retrospect, I should have just stopped. It wasn’t really an enjoyable read.

There were several good places in the book, followed by something I didn’t care for. However, what kept me reading was the story line, though I think it could have been written better. At least, there weren’t grammatical errors upon errors as I’ve seen in other books.

What chased me away from this epic fantasy book was the fact the main character was practically invincible to everything. I kept wondering why have a character that has skin that can’t be penetrated by almost anything? It kind of takes the fun out of the hero for me. He seems like a God, but isn’t… The Torgon, or Torg for short, is the main character in this book, and although invincible, the reader can at least connect with him on a few levels. Other than that, the characters in this book were one-dimensional. I didn’t really get a feel for them, despite the annoying background information on the characters that felt more like filler than anything else. It felt as if I was just reading about this world and wasn’t part of it.

I won’t read books 2-5. If I barely made it through the first book, I would hate to force myself to read the others. During some parts of the books, it seemed as if I was reading a book for children, due to the writing and attempt at humor, and then bam an adult scene, which confused me because it didn’t seem to go with the story. It was almost as if they were placed there just because the author could.

I had high hopes for this book and left it sorely disappointed.

Leave a Reply

