Book Review: Fang Chronicles: Amy’s Story

Fang Chronicles: Amy's Story by [McClain, D'Elen]

4/5 stars

This is the very first romance vampire story I have ever read. I wasn’t planning on reading one, but someone recommended it to me and I thought, “Sure, why not. Let’s give it a try.” I wanted to see what the big fuss was over them. After reading it, I still don’t really see what the big fuss is. To be honest, I have never been much of a romance reader and I’m certainly not a romance writer, I’ve tried and failed. It’s just not for me. (I have more romance novels on my ereader, I may or may not read. We’ll see.)

With that being said, I gave this book a 4/5 because I know I’m prejudiced against romance and vampires. At least this vampire was a bad ass and killed people. That part I can appreciate. I can also appreciate wanting to find someone to spend all of eternity with. I get that, too. I gave it a 4/5 simply because of the editing and I didn’t feel it had a strong story.

Throughout the story, during conversations, they weren’t written the way they should be and as a author it hit one of my nerves. When people are speaking it’s supposed to be written out like this: “Hi Fred, I got the magazine for you,” said Jim. Not like this: “Hi Fred, I got the magazine for you.” Said Jim. See the difference? It’s probably nitpicking, but I feel if you’re going to write a book at least try for some proper grammar and it wouldn’t have bothered me so much if it wasn’t strewn throughout the entire book. I could understand a few mistakes like this. Mistakes happen, even after something has been edited a dozen times.

Anyway, if you love vampire romance novels this one is probably for you. As I said, it wasn’t a horrible book. I did finish it. There have been several books that have been DNF’s.

 

Leave a Reply

