Book Review: The Reflections of Queen Snow White

Reflections

* I received a free copy of this book in an exchange for an honest review

The first word which comes to mind is WOW. When I first read the description of what the book was about, I thought, “Oh, yay, another predictable book.” I didn’t think I would make it very far into it before giving up. I am delighted to be proved wrong.

The only reason I’m giving this book 4 stars instead of the 5 stars is because of the mistakes riddled throughout the whole book. Sometimes the wrong words are used. Punctuation is misplaced or absent. It pulled me away from the otherwise attention grabbing story.

This story is not a Disney version in the slightest. It’s written with dark elements ranging from Snow White’s childhood where her “evil” step-mother, Arglist, abuses her to where she was poisoned by Arglist and nearly dies, and more. I am disappointed nothing was shown of her step-mother’s demise after Snow White meets Charming. I would be interested to read about this, even if it was gruesome. At least, it was hinted at. It was also something Snow White didn’t like, so it makes the reader highly curious what actually happened.

There are good moments within the story as well, like on Snow White and Charming’s wedding night, the first time ever for Snow White. I had a sense Charming had been around with a few different women before he met Snow White with the way the scene played out. I found it amusing to know how naïve Snow White was, not altogether surprising, given her past. I also found Charming’s surprise entertaining and loved the way he handled it. However, it is definitely an adult scene. Some other good moments was the sense of how much Snow White and Charming loved one another.

I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but know the ending made me cry in a few places. It’s been a long time since an author has actually made tears for me. So, well done, David Meredith. Well done.

Despite the dark moments, which make you feel for Snow White and connect with her, the book is an enjoyable, unique read. It demonstrates it’s not easy to live with grief, but life must continue. You must continue to live for yourself and the others around you who love you. You must continue to live and find joy in life, even if your other half has gone to the afterlife. You must find strength in yourself, even when you doubt it’s there.

I would recommend this to others. It has a unique story-line, which draws you in. This is a story which is likely to stay with me for a long time.

To purchase click here.

Leave a Reply

