Book Review: Shadow of the Raven

*I received a free cop of this book in an exchange for an honest review.

Shadow of the Raven by Millie Thom is truly a remarkable historical fiction story. I don’t say this lightly either. Whereas Shadow of the Raven is not in my preferred genre of reading, I must admit this one kept me reading and reading, wondering what was going to happen. Millie Thom is an incredibly talented author who writes beautifully. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series. Since this is not my preferred genre but was able to draw me into the story and keep me reading, I must give it 5 stars!

The way she details scenes makes it seem as if you’re really there with the characters sharing their life. Their day to day activities and their thoughts.

The story follows along two main storylines, Alfred of Wessex and Eadwulf of Mercia. They are the sons of kings who are coming into their future roles of king. As the reader, you get to know both characters extremely well and feel for them.

During the story, the reader is certainly faced with unusual names, but they felt true to the story and the time period in which it was set. I feel she captured the life of the Danes, or Vikings as some of us call them, well. She also captured the life of the early Anglo-Saxons well. For anyone who loves historical fiction, I say this is a must read!

To purchase the book:

Amazon.com

Amazon.co.uk

One thought on “Book Review: Shadow of the Raven

  1. Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I’m truly grateful that you took the time to read my book – and that you’ve posted it on Amazon! As I probably mentioned before, I originally wrote Book One, and half of Book 2, as historical fantasy. It’s a genre I very much enjoy. I still have the original fantasy version stored in my Documents file! But the rest of the trilogy is definitely historical fiction.Thank you again . . .

Leave a Reply

