Staying on Focus During Edits

For the last couple of weeks, I have been struggling staying on focus for the edits of book 2 in the Hartland series. For the life of me, I have no idea why. I sit there and stare at the words, going do I have to? The responsible part of me says YES!!!!! The other part of me, is like nah, let’s read or play a game. Lately, it seems the second part of me is winning. I must put an end to it and remind myself why I enjoy editing, even if it is a big task and overwhelming at times.

Editing for me is where the story truly starts to come together, where I get to cut all of the scenes which don’t really belong in the book. I call these filler scenes. Sometimes, I’m not even certain why I wrote the scene. Maybe it was just to get to the next major area of the book and I had no idea how to get there, or I thought I needed some more pages. Who knows what I was really thinking when I wrote it? I must have thought it was a good scene at the time or I would have never written it. Or, at least I tell myself that.

During the edit process I get to laugh at all of the silly mistakes. Like, when I was typing too fast and wrote the wrong word or missed a letter. So, if I wrote shirt and missed the r, you get my meaning. This part of editing does make it enjoyable and often times humorous.

I think my issue with editing Hartland book 2 (still don’t have a proper title for it) is I made so many changes in book 1, I now have to make the appropriate changes in book 2 which in turns, means the entire story has changed, minus the ending. I thought it was amazing I wrote 3 books in a little under 3 months, but now that the editing has caught up to me, I’m not so certain anymore. All I can say is at least the main part of the story is there. I just have to change a lot of things, otherwise, book 2 isn’t going to make a lot of sense.

As I finish up this post and start thinking about editing book 2 again, I am growing a little bit more excited, mostly because I only have a 103 more pages of this edit to go. Now, what sort of music should I listen to while editing? Whereas I want to say hard rock, I’ll probably go with some mellow piano music this time around.

Once this edit is over, the next few edits will be immensely easier! And then off to a beta reader. And probably a few more edits.

If anyone is interested in being a beta reader for us, let us know! We’re always looking for new input.

Leave a Reply

