Writing Minds

Here’s another little confession to add to the last one. Even when writers are not physically writing, our minds are still writing, thinking about what will happen next, or what one of our characters are going to do.

I don’t know how many meetings I have been in while at the “place which pays the bills”, and my boss has called on me and I have no idea what we’ve been discussing. Since I have no idea what we were talking about, I have to ask her to repeat the question, which she does, albeit a bit annoyed with me, and wing it. Oh well. Can’t help it. My real job is writing. It will always be my real job even if I never make enough to pay the bills with it. The place which I work at to pay the bills is just that, a place where I have to be if I want a roof over my head and food in my tummy.

Another confession is coming. Going into being an indie author is a lot harder than I imagined it would be, but every time we sell a book to someone we don’t know either here in the U.S. or in another country, we do a little celebration. It might be harder than we expected or imagined, but it was well worth it. I love being an indie author. Would I love a book contract, of course, but in the mean time being an indie author is very rewarding for the work we put into it.

One of the reasons, my mind will never stop writing is because this is who I was meant to be and writing is what I was supposed to do, and I’m out there writing, even while at a job which pays the bills. Don’t get me wrong, I’m good at this job, but I would much prefer just writing. It’s why I am constantly thinking about a dozen stories which I could be writing. It’s why I “zone out” during meetings. Writing is just who I am.

Leave a Reply

