Meeting Writing Goals

As a writer, I set goals everyday to write depending on the busy schedule I have. Some days it could be one page, other days it could be ten. However, with that being said, I refuse to punish myself for not reaching a goal. For one, writing can be difficult. It could take a while to work yourself out of a corner you wrote yourself in and you want to keep the scene you just wrote because, well, it’s awesome. Secondly, things throughout the day come up and sometimes you just don’t have time to reach the set goal. Of course, I try to make up the loss throughout the week. Sometimes I overachieve. Sometimes I underachieve. However, what’s more important to me than reaching those goals, is the quality of work that I put into it and the fact that I wrote something that day, whether it was a sentence or thirty pages.

Whereas it is important to set goals and try to reach them, it is more important to me that you tried to reach them, despite everything that is going on that day, or if you’re just simply stuck and need a few days to sort out what needs to happen next in the story. After all, you can’t have a Jurassic Park ending all the time, where the T-Rex comes and saves the day. For us, writing something that could actually happen is more important than just getting past the point where you’re stuck with anything. There’s been a few times, we’ve caught ourselves doing this because of that said goal. It has taken us awhile to realize that while, yes, goals are important, the quality of writing is more important. At the end of the day, we want to be happy with what we did. If we should reach our goal and be unhappy with what we wrote and have to redo it than what was the point?

Leave a Reply

