Finishing a WIP

Well, it seems that some time has just opened up for me. I just finished yet another draft of a WIP and am waiting for the New Year to look at it again and do some more editing before I am happy enough to let others read/critique it.

My question is what do you do when you finish a novel that you’ve been working on for months? I’ve been going crazy trying not to think about it. Usually when I finish with a draft of a story, I always start on it right away. So, you’re probably asking, why are you giving it a break this time? The answer is rather simple. People have told me it’s a good thing to set aside, so that when you come back to it, you have a fresher set of eyes. I guess I will be seeing if this is true at the beginning of the year.

So, guess what I started? That’s right another WIP. Started a brand new story. It’s been difficult for me to get anywhere on it as, again, my thoughts are on the book that I just finished. Maybe it’s because I know there are parts in the “finished” version that aren’t quite what I wanted them to be and am eager to get to them, or it could simply be that I like to finish my projects before moving onto another? I am curious as to what other people think. Do you like to finish a project before moving onto another? Or are you the kind of person that has multiple projects going on and it doesn’t bother you?

Leave a Reply

