Anytime, anywhere.

People laugh at me when I tell them this, or they don’t believe it to be completely true, but some of the best ideas I’ve ever had with regards to my stories come to me when I’m on the toilet. I think it has to do with the fact that I’m just sitting there, in a quiet room left alone with my thoughts. In fact, the base idea for Full Moon Rising came to me when I was in the bathroom at work.

I had a fairly good idea come to me once at work. I was pouring water into one of the warming pans, watching it slowly filling and covering the bottom. In my head, I imagined it being a dried up lake bed slowly filling it back up. Then the question popped into my head, ‘Why would it be dry in the first place?’ The rest of that day I was working on answering that question and I came up with an idea for an entire story.

Whether it comes from a sudden moment of inspiration out of the blue, or from quiet time spent contemplating different things or just from letting my mind wander, an idea can hit me from anywhere at any given time. Looking back, its interesting to realize that I’d come up with a good idea, written it down briefly and then forgotten about it. Wherever it comes from, I’m glad for it.

Leave a Reply

