To Remember…

I find it a little funny now that I’ve gone back to re-read a series of books I was never able to finish. Almost a decade ago my interest in The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan waned and I put his latest book down, fully intent on never finishing it, or the series.

For the last three months I’ve been making my way slowly through them again. I was going to just pick up where I left off, but so much time had passed that I couldn’t remember where that was. Now, I’m almost half-way through Book Three: The Dragon Reborn. What is funny to me is the fact that there are many parts in the books I’ve re-read so far that I don’t remember. It’s almost as though I’m reading it for the first time, in some parts anyway. In fact, I was about 50 pages into The Dragon Reborn before I came to a part that I actually remembered. lol

Doing this, I have to wonder if, years from now, will there be someone out there that does this with a series of novels that my wife and I write. Although I doubt I’ll ever hit the level that Robert Jordan is at, nor have a series as extensive as The Wheel of Time, you never know… Maybe one of the ideas we’ve had recently will turn out to be the one that stays with us enough for us to write 14 books about it.

Leave a Reply

